Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Sunday, May 26, 2013

MAC Temperature Rising: Bare My Soul Quad - Review, Swatches and Dupes

Romantico, Bare My Soul
Friendly, When In Rio

ROMANTICO (Veluxe Pearl) is a light taupe brown with shimmer. This is the stand out shade of the palette for me. It has a beautiful texture and blends beautifully. Romantico is very complex -- with subtle pink and green shimmer. MAC Patina is lighter and cooler, Urban Decay Suspect is lighter and more orange.
 
 
BARE MY SOUL (Lustre) is a shimmering gold with a copper undertone. The texture and pigmentation is outstanding especially compared to other Lustres.
 

FRIENDLY (Veluxe Pearl) is a deep chocolate briown with gold shimmer. It has great pigmentation and blends easily.

 
WHEN IN RIO (Frost) is a blackened red brown with teal frost. This eyeshadow is beautiful but has a slightly drier texture than the others. It is similar to MAC Club. When In Rio has a darker, cooler base and the duochrome is more apparent.






Top to Bottom: When In Rio, Friendly, Bare My Soul, Romantico









 
 
 
 
I was literally counting down the days until the Temperature Rising collection released, which was May 16th online and May 23rd at stores/counters. Unfortunately this quad sold out in a couple hours online so I had to wait until I could purchase it at my local counter. As I'm sure most of you know, this is limited edition and can be purchased at MAC locations while supplies last.

 
This is an amazing quad! I haven't purchased one in quite some time because in the last couple years MAC has released a series of flops... most with lackluster or poor quality. I'm pleasantly surprised that they put together such a winner! This quad is $44 while the typical price for a quad is $40... you're obviously paying for the packaging. It is bronzy in color and feels a bit rubbery like NARS packaging.  Unfortunately it scratches quite easily... which drives me crazy!
 
 
I love that it has two Veluxe Pearls, as they are my favorite finish! The colors work well together and you're able to create a variety of different looks. You couldn't use this quad exclusively, as there isn't a highlight shade included. All the eyeshadows wore about 8-9 hours with minimal creasing and fading.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Overall this is a beautiful quad and definitely worth picking up if the colors appeal to you... I think it would be universally flattering!
 
 
Have you purchased anything from this collection? What is your favorite MAC quad?


Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Sigma Brush Haul -- Brutally Honest Review

I have been putting off purchasing Sigma brushes. I just got the impression that they were a poor substitute for MAC brushes and I don't like copy-cat companies. Today I'm writing an HONEST review. I don't have affiliate links, coupon codes, and I'm not sponsored by Sigma.

Whew! Now that I have that out there, lets get started! Please click the pictures to enlarge!


Left to Right: F10, F80, E40, E34, E65






 
 Sigma F80 - Flat Top Kabuki Brush
 
I rarely say this -- but this brush has completely changed the way I do my makeup. I hardly ever wore liquid foundation because I hated the way other brushes applied it and it took forever... until I found this brush. It is hands down the best foundation brush I have ever used by any brand. Not only does it leave a flawless finish, but it does it in half the time. The synthetic bristles are so soft and they don't eat up all your product like a lot of stippling brushes do. This brush also helps to give a fuller coverage. I have washed it three times in the last week that I've had it and I haven't noticed any shedding. It does take quite a while to dry because the bristles are so densely packed. Regular exfoliation is a must! Buffing brushes like the F80 can cause micro-exfoliation -- this will make any dry patches appear flakier. I haven't had any issues, but I have combination oily skin... Ladies with super dry skin may proceed with caution. 
 


Sigma F10 -- Powder/Blush Brush

I use the F10 for blush only. It's not big and fluffy enough to be used as an all over powder brush. I think the F10 is soft and performs its job well. It is similar to the MAC 129. I find that a patting motion works best with this brush. I would repurchase it and I use it daily. I'm not over the moon, but I like it and would recommend.



Sigma E40 -- Blending Brush

I originally purchased this for applying my transition. After washing the E40 around 7-10 times it has completely lost its shape and now I only find it suitable for applying highlighter to my cheek bones. I would NOT repurchase.


Sigma E45 - Tapered Blending Brush

I have been praying that MAC repromotes the 226, but now I could care less if they do... this brush is perfect for detailed crease work. I think it applies eyeshadow beautifully and is great quality for the money. I have washed it twice and it has completely kept its shape. I bought my mom one for Mother's Day :)



Sigma E65 -- Small Angled Brush

Total Disappointment. As you can see in the close-up it is not at a perfect angle... it just levels off. This is my biggest pet peeve when it comes to brushes. I would return it but it's not worth the shipping cost. I'm sure not all Sigma E65's will have this problem, but mine does and I'm pissed. I was going to use this for gel liner but clearly that's not an option. It is also too wide imo to be used for this purpose -- unless you want a thick line.







I don't think all Sigma brushes are created equally, as I've read a lot of bad reviews on certain ones... so if you are planning on purchasing some I would recommend checking out makeupalley or reading other reviews. I plan on getting a couple more and will do another haul post!

You can purchase them at www.sigmabeauty.com


Hope that this was helpful and don't forget to subscribe, follow, and comment!




Do you have any Sigma brushes? How do you feel about them?



Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Cargo Liquid Foundation Review



Let me begin by saying that although I love the packaging, it was a total pain in the ass to photograph! That's the best shot I could get, which isn't saying much.

Cargo Liquid Foundation is $36 for 1.36 oz, making it about $26/oz. I think that is a pretty reasonable price considering Nars is $44/oz, Estee Lauder Double Wear is $36/oz, and MAC Studio Fix Fluid is pretty comparable at $27/oz.

Back to the packaging... when I was first handed this by an artist at Ulta I was a bit turned off by its appearance. If I'm going to be paying high end prices, I would like it to look like a high end product. After taking the product home I fell head over heels in love with this packaging! I honestly wish all foundation came in pouches. Not only is it extremely hygienic but the product doesn't dry out. You don't waste any product because you control exactly how much comes out.

Cargo claims that it is a medium coverage and it is suitable for all skin types. Well here's what I say... It is a buildable light to medium coverage at the most. It does a great job of evening out my face and covering any redness that I have. I do not think that it would be appropriate for ladies that have a lot of acne/scars/hyperpigmentation and need a fuller coverage foundation. It blends and melts right into the skin and looks like I'm not wearing anything. I love how light it is -- doesn't feel like you are wearing foundation. I am typically an NC20 in MAC Studio Fix Powder and Cargo's F-20 is a PERFECT match to my skin. This foundation seems like it was made for me. I know that everyone will not be so lucky, but that is one of the reasons I love this foundation and will continue to repurchase.

I have combination skin that is usually oily with occasional bouts of dryness, but I typically don't suffer from acne unless it's hormonal. With that said, when my skin is oily this foundation definitely needs to be set with a powder. It has a semi-matte finish which is appropriate for all skin types. When my skin is dry it does tend to look a little cakey in those areas -- as does just about any foundation. So make sure to properly moisturize!

After applying, the product does not have any visible color changes due to oxidation, and it wears for about 7-8 hours when set with a powder. My favorite one to use is Rimmel Stay Matte Powder. I did purchase the Carge Blu-Ray Powder but I'm not a huge fan.

Overall I really love this foundation but I wouldn't recommend it to everyone. If your needs are similar to mine and you want a natural, light-medium coverage foundation, with a semi-matte finish then you should pick up Cargo Liquid Foundation!


This product can be purchased at Ulta or Sephora.

I give this product an  A-!!!

Thanks for reading and don't forget to subscribe!


-Sarah


Monday, February 18, 2013

MAC Prep+Prime Fortified Skin Illuminateur in Neutralize



MAC has a vast collection of Prep+Prime products and today I'm going to be reviewing their Fortified Skin Illuminateur in Neutralize. When purchasing a product from this line, the most important thing to do is look on the box for the active ingredients and uses. The word primer has a lot of different meanings, and you should decide what you would like your primer to do -- moisturize, oil control, fill in pores, sunscreen, etc. Neutralize has five active ingredients, all of which are for sunscreen benefits, so it will not help in controlling excess oil. Along with protecting skin from the sun, this product claims to neutralize redness and illuminate the skin.




As you can see the product is very yellow, and this helps to neutralize redness. The illumination properties come from the large amounts of sunscreen in the product. I do see a difference in redness reduction when I use this product, but the I don't find that my skin is anymore illuminated once I have my foundation on. I use MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation most of the time because I have oily skin and this product works beautifully under it. If you have ever used MAC SFP you know that it can look pretty powdery when first applied. When I use Neutralize under it I find the coverage to be much more even, less powdery, and it even lasts longer.


On with a couple negatives... I cannot use this under liquid foundation because there aren't any oil reduction ingredients, so this wouldn't be something I recommend to ladies with super oily skin. Also, because of all the sunscreen in the product, you should not use it if you will be photographed -- it will cause your face to be washed out and much whiter than your body in the photos.


I think that this is a great product for use under powder foundation and I will be repurchasing when I run out. I love that it reduces redness, protects my skin from the sun, and helps my powder foundation apply evenly and last longer! On a side note, I think that it is important to be realistic with our expectations of facial products and primers. I read a bunch of negative reviews on Neutralize because they were expecting it do things the product was not made to do. When making a purchase, always read what the products is used for and the active ingredients!



Thank you so much for reading and don't forget to subscribe!!


Have you tried any Prep + Prime products? What is your favorite primer?



Wednesday, February 13, 2013

NEW MAC Pro Palette: Large Duo (Double Sided) Review

 
Without Dividers (48 eyeshadows)
(L-R) Gesso, Blanc Type, Vanilla, Mylar, Brule, Shroom
Dazzlelight, Nylon, Ricepaper, Naked Lunch, Jest, Vex
Malt, Kid, Wedge, Omega, Era, Soft Brown
Cork, Espresso, Brun, Brown Down, Handwritten, Embark

All That Glitters, Woodwinked, Tempting, Bronze, Mulch, Amber Lights
Sable, Satin Taupe, Twinks, Sketch, Cranberry, Nocturnelle
Jaunty (LE), Patina, Sumptuous Olive, Greensmoke, Club, Humid
Copperplate, Knight Divine, Print, Smut, Contrast, Carbon
 

 
With one divider (39 Eyeshadows)


The long awaited MAC LARGE DUO (Double Sided) PRO PALETTE has finally arrived at my home and I can hardly control my excitement long enough to write this review! I know this may look like a short novel, but what can I say? I'm thorough!

Oh dear Lord, where do I begin? Let me just say that I am in love! I think that it looks sleek, sophisticated and a definite upgrade from the old palettes. And while I do think the palette is a success overall, I also have a couple complaints...

The Palette is about 3.5 times thicker than the old MAC palettes and about a half inch smaller in height and width. It is made of high quality plastic and does not have a see through lid like the new Pro Palette Single. The plastic seems to be a lot sturdier than the old ones, in addition to a more professional appearance.

The palette does not have a snap closure, rather it is held together magnetically. This is one of my favorite features because the closures of old the palettes would wear out. The magnet holds it together snugly, but I do not find it overly difficult to open. The magnetic pull isn't so strong that you pinch your fingers... Inglot palettes I'm looking at you! There is a clear plastic shield that can be moved to either side. I understand that it is a necessary component to protect the eyeshadows, but it isn't easy to move back and forth -- which is super annoying when you are trying to do a look!

You can choose to purchase dividers which will hold either 15 eyeshadows, 6 blushes, 12 lipsticks, or 24 cream products... Or you can leave the dividers out! Without the divider each side holds 24 eyeshadows for a total of 48 in the entire palette -- or you can put one divider in like I did in the last two pictures for a total of 39 eyeshadows.  Also note that when you use the dividers it is difficult to get the eyeshadows out. They do not have the grooves that the old palettes have.

When I purchased the palette online I thought that at least one side would need a divider (the side being stored upside down), but to my surprise the metal plate inside the palette is quite strong -- much stronger than the old palettes! I feel comfortable leaving the divider out of both sides because I don't travel with my palettes. If you travel or you are a bit clumsy, you may want to invest in some dividers.


On with the pics! Please click to enlarge.










WITH NO DIVIDERS (48 Eyeshadows)







WITH ONE DIVIDER (39 Eyeshadows)








The price of the palette is $25 and each divider is $9... so to buy the palette and two dividers you're looking at $43!! That's a lot of money for a palette! That is why I am advocating divider free palettes. They are available online (click HERE) and at PRO stores. I'm not sure if they are going to be sold at regular free standing stores, but as soon as I know I will update the post.

Originally I was pretty pissed off that MAC switched the palettes because I am somewhat of an organization freak and like everything to match. I was also upset that they were more expensive! But after receiving the product and realizing you don't need the dividers, I couldn't be more thrilled! If you are like me and have A LOT of eyeshadows, this ends up being cheaper. Rather than having 15/26 eyeshadows in the old MAC palettes, I can have 48! I think it looks more professional, and I LOVE having all my neutrals in one palette!


****UPDATE****
After having the palette for three days, I have had two eyeshadows fall down onto the clear shield -- nothing broke, but I am lowering my rating! The ones that fell were on the side with no dividers. Pretty big disappointment, but I am still going to leave the dividers out and just be more careful.


If you are new to MAC please note:
Neither the palette nor the dividers are magnetized, so the eyeshadows need to be... Inside the palette is a peice of metal and if you choose to depot your eyeshadows, you will need to glue a small magnet to the back of them. I like to purchase the eyeshadows in pro pan form from their website, because they come with the magnet already attached -- much easier, and cheaper!

I give this palette an   B+!!


Thanks for reading and don't forget to subscribe!

-Sarah




 

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation Review



I've been trying out this foundation for last couple weeks so that I could give an accurate review, and I am really pleased with the product! Here's my two cents on Revlon Colorstay Liquid Foundation!

I didn't find a 100% match to my skintone but I ended up going with 150 Buff, which was one of their lightest shades. Unfortunately it was slightly grey colored -- but this is a common problem with fair drugstore foundations. Luckily this was the only con I found with the product. Although I did wear this foundation on its own for the sake of the review, I ended up mixing it with a more pinky foundation that I had to make the perfect shade.

It is important to note that there are two different kinds of Revlon Colorstay: one for oily skin and one for dry skin. I purchased the one for oily skin skin because it has a matte finish; I still recommend using powder because it didn't fully set without it. I would say that it has medium to full coverage and is definitely buildable. It went on smoothly and evenly, but the drying time was pretty short -- so you have to work fast! Revlon claims that it lasts 24 hours, but I wear foundation for a maximum of 8 hours so I can't really confirm or dispute that assertion. When worn over a primer this foundation was still going strong 8 hours later. Because of the matte finish, make sure that your skin is moisturized prior to applying because it can appear a little cakey. Ladies with dry skin, proceed with caution.

I wish that it came with a pump, but that won't keep me from repurchasing when I run out. I like to apply it with a Real Techniques Stippling Brush because it helped to sheer out the coverage and really buff it into the skin. Overall I am extremely pleased with my purchase and you can't beat the price! I think I paid $9.97. If you are in the market for a foundation try Revlon Colorstay and let me know what you think!


DON'T FORGET TO SUBSCRIBE! LOVE YA!


-Sarah

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Nail Polish Savior -- Amazing Top Coat!

Sally Hansen Hard as Nail Xtreme Wear Review and Pictures


I decided to do a little experiment and paint my nails, but only use top coat on one hand to see how well this product actually works. It goes on smoothly, and isn't thick or goopy like many top coats tend to be. Dry time was pretty fast, and it added a lot of shine. The hand that didn't have this product chipped by the end of the first day, and also the nail polish color started to fade.





 


This was after three days of wear!

If you use any top coat it will extend the life of your nail polish, but I don't think I have ever gone three days without atleast one chip!



What's your favorite top coat?

Friday, December 28, 2012

MIRACLE PRODUCT: Murad Age Balancing Night Cream Review



Typically I would be ranting and raving about my favorite eyeshadow of the moment, but I have to take a break from my usual antics to talk about the Murad Age Balancing night cream. I got a large sample (0.6 oz -- full size is 1.7 oz) from Ulta when I purchased another Murad product (that I ended up hating, and returning). Anywho, this has been sitting in my bathroom cabinet for about a month and finally I decided to give it a try...

Talk about a LIFE CHANGER!!! I have unpredictable combination skin with small flare ups and random dryness for reference. I noticed a huge difference after the first night, and my skin is absolutely transformed after 5. No more dry skin and not a spot in sight!!! My skin hasn't looked this good in years! It has a nice scent and doesn't feel heavy or greasy on the skin. You wake up and your face feels -- well, hydrated -- for lack of a better word.

Now comes the slap in the face... This puppy retails for $75!!!! Are you kidding me? I found a 30 day kit on their website that includes this and some other goodies for $39.95, so I think I'll give that a try.


What is your favorite moisturizer?

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



MAC CLUB EYESHADOW -- Review and Swatches

CLUB (Satin)


HOLY DUOCHROME BATMAN!!



Hello my name is Sarah, and I am an eyeshadow addict.

It seems appropriate that I review Club because it was the first eyeshadow I purchased from MAC, and 10 years later it is still one of my favorites! MAC describes Club as red-brown with green pearl and I think that is a fair description. At first glance it appears to have a green base but after swatching you can see that it is a blue/green sheen over a reddish brown base. I used to wear this shadow in my early roaring twenties when going out, but now I like to use it during the day for a slight pop of color. If you are craving a smokey eye, look no further!




This is definitely an eyeshadow that needs a primer to help it really shine and show it's full potential. I like to use Urban Decay Primer Potion, but there are plenty that will work just as well.


(top without primer, bottom with primer)


 
Club looks great paired with other greens, neutrals, and purples... My favorite way to wear it is on the lid with Patina in the crease and to transition, Vanilla to highlight. If you are looking around beauty blogs trying to decide if Club is for you, let me be the one to tell you -- IT IS! I have fair skin, but it would look good on just about any skintone. It really makes green and brown eyes pop!
What's your favorite way to wear Club?? And don't forget to subscribe!